Reviewing: Lumberjanes

Have you ever been to a summer camp that you hated? For me I went to a day camp once and called it quits. However, for the Lumberjanes there is more to it than being away from home or doing activities outdoors. At least you didn’t have mutated foxes, river monsters, and a vampire-like possessed boy camp to fight. And be thankful the book was not called the actual name of the camp: Miss Quinzella Thiskwin Penniquiqul Thistle Crumpet’s Camp for Hardcore Lady Types.

Written by Shannon Watters, Grace Ellis and Noelle Stevenson the Lumberjanes is a graphic novel set up like a guide to camp with instructions on how to earn certain badges. Each chapter is a new badge with a short story following the five main characters who are going after that badge, but don’t necessarily get it in a normal way.

Each of the five main girls in the stories are so distinct. Even though there are five, you can easily tell who is who. One example is April who may look petite and innocent, but we learn soon enough she’s the exact opposite. There’s also Jo, Molly, Mal, and Ripley.


Each chapter is a new adventure and we dive farther and farther into the secrets the camp has to offer, but also getting more questions than answers. The story leaves you wanting more, wanting to know the backstory of “Kitten Holy” or the mysterious sentient statue hiding underground. This isn’t the last time we’ll see the Lumberjanes though, the second book in the series comes out in October.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s