Book Quibbles: Where I Ache – Poetry Collection

I’m always up to reading a new poetry collection.

I received an advanced copy in exchange for a review and I want to thank the author, Megan O’Keef, for reaching out and asking me. I will always try to get a review done for anyone who wants to email me at

poetry collection

Where I Ache

Author: Megan O’Keef | Website 

Publication Date: June 10, 2019

Rating: 4/5 Stars

Amazon | Goodreads

This collection is broken up into six chapters ranging from themes such as depression, jealousy, grief, and strength. These are delicate subjects to talk about and most people avoid them because of the uncomfortable vulnerability. I’ve always written and shared my poetry with the hope that readers would relate and feel less alone. I hope you feel a sense of community to all of those connected throughout this collection.

First things first, I want to note that there is a trigger warning at the beginning of the book, so if any of the topics said above may be triggering for you, do be wary of that. It’s always appreciated before the start of a book.

The chapters are broken down into different sections with different body parts such as “My Foggy Head,” “My Bruised Spine,” and “My Grieving Knees.” Each of the chapters deals with a particular topic like jealousy or grief. I like how it let you know going in what it would be about.

Some of the sections didn’t resonate with me, just because it may not have been something I experienced or have gone through in a while (relationships being the main thing) but that doesn’t take away the great writing.

I actually wanted to include some of my favorite passages.

Flying or Falling

I live with ghosts inside my head

A monster creeping under my bed.

They make me hard to read

and even harder to please.

I climb to the top of mountains

To drown out their voices

Then high dive off the edge again.

Another example:

You are Made of Stars and Dreams

There’s a fire burning inside of you.

One that the world has tried to put out

because they cannot understand

what is foreign to them.

But it’s filled to the brim

with hope and dreams

waiting to burst out of you like fireworks.

It bleeds stars and milky ways

others have only dreamed of.

There are also illustrations throughout the book. They add more to the stories and I like that they didn’t take up the whole book or fill the entire page, just give something extra.


The main theme of the book is helping others feel less alone by tackling different topics we can relate to. Even if you can’t relate to everything, there are still powerful statements that will resonate with you.

It’s not super long so it is a book you can go back and read again.

I enjoyed the writing style, the way the book was broken up, and the overall message of you aren’t alone. I would recommend this book, even if you aren’t that into poetry, there’s always a place to start.

Again, I want to thank Megan for sending me a copy.Where I Ache Cover finalTwitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Pinterest | Tumblr


6 thoughts on “Book Quibbles: Where I Ache – Poetry Collection

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s